Confidence Gained From Martial Arts Training Helps Your Career And Life

Posted on Updated on

     Ok , when I was kid I was a chubby,poorly dressed nerd. I was a good athlete but I struggled with my weight. We didn’t have a lot of money so my clothes were not great and my house wasn’t like my friends. We went to tiny and strange church and that made me very different from my friends. Being fairly intelligent this lead me to sequester myself in my room with books. Not necessarily a bad thing except that your social life dies. That will effect your ability to interact in business later in life. Good and bad there, but hang on.
     That nerd trait served me well but the lack of interaction and confidence would have been hard to overcome. What changed?  Martial arts entered the picture. Training in the ring and the discipline of that style of training helped in so many ways. The discipline helped me finally start building my conditioning. While playing and being decent at other sports, I just never was pushed to get in shape. Wrestling and martial arts gave me that discipline and desire. A big help in the confidence killing Jr high age lol.  I’m going to toss some random pictures in here of what that does as well as training and students, then we will move on to how it helps in business and life.

image

image

image

image

image

image

The fact is the confidence I gained from training gave me more than I could imagine. I was terrified of girls and not exactly popular before I started this. That confidence allowed me to go on a date with girl who was way out of my league. 31 years later we are still together. That is a fact!!!!!  In business, it helps in so many ways. While I fear little after spending time having other pro fighters try to take my head off, I do fear trying to get new clients and business. The nerd still comes out but the confidence allows me to schmooze. Over the years I’ve stopped having to worry as much about it as most of the business I need finds me (very much a function of a life in martial arts).
    Confidence to talk to that girl/boy. Confidence to go on that job interview. Confidence to approach new business for your social media marketing empire. All of these things can be gained by taking the Step to start training. I still see the benefits every day. Having been successful running a trading firm and now a large social media and creative consultancy that background serves me well. Not to mention building my training business and traveling the world to train other fighters.

image

image

image

I guess the best way to put it is that martial arts helped make my dreams come true. Training in Muay Thai, karate, kung fu and jiu jitsu are still helping my dreams come true. The confidence and connections I have help me make an impression in the social media marketing world each day. They did on Wall Street before that. See what it can do in your career whatever it is. See how it can help your personal life.
    If you want to work with us and build your company or career by getting seen, contact us. From ad campaigns to shout out and simple links on posts. We also do consultations for businesses both for vision and direction. Using 20 years on Wall Street and experience of owning gyms, stores and media companies to help you build yours. Email tompkinscontent@gmail.com and follow @combatsportlife and @tompkinscontent on twitter

Leave a Reply

